Henry County Teacher of the Year named

By Heather Middleton

Oct 26, 2018


Kelley Theodocion was named the 2018 Henry County Teacher of the Year Thursday at the Performing Arts Center. 

McDONOUGH — Amid the laughing, cheering and clapping, Henry County Schools named its 2018 Teacher of the Year Thursday evening during the annual Harvest of Heroes celebration.

Thunderous applause echoed off the walls of the Performing Arts Center as Kelley Theodocion was named Henry County Teacher of the Year.

“I’m extremely honored and humbled,” Theodocion said. “I’m proud to represent Henry County Schools.”

Theodocion is a 24-year educator teaching social studies and English language arts at Impact Academy.

“She has always stood out among her peers,” said Impact Academy Principal Steve Thompson. “She’s extremely caring and leads a science of great teaching. She’s a leader with her students.”

In addition to Teacher of the Year, seven Employees of the Year were also honored.

• Van Cheeves — Service Employee of the Year

• Darlene Campbell — Transportation Employee of the Year

• Lee Ann Hopper — School Nutrition Employee of the Year

• Norma Santiago-Bell — Support Personnel Employee of the Year

• Nicohl Webb — Counselor of the Year

• Cristi Johnson — Media Specialist of the Year

• Rebekah Ross — Student Services Employee of the Year

“They make our school system great, often doing jobs behind the scenes,” said JD Hardin, the evening’s emcee.


Superintendent Mary Elizabeth Davis that she’s thankful to be part of an organization with “such fine educators and support personnel.”

“We are better together,” she said.


As District 4 Commissioner, Pete will consistently champion and enhance these focus areas:


  • Public Safety and Crime Prevention

  • Robust Economic Development/Education

  • Maximize Public/Private Partnerships--To Improve Transportation and Infrastructure

  • Community Care--Provide Critical Aid To: Veterans; Seniors; Homeless Citizens; and Viable Substance Abuse and Domestic Abuse Prevention Programs


    Please join us on Facebook:


    Facebook:  @petepeterson4henry



    November 6, 2018:

    General Election



    Committee To Elect Pete Peterson (2018)